Word 2010 table of contents all the same number

I have been trying to help someone here print a 72 page report and something really irritating happens with the table of contents at random times. This document is worked on by multiple people so track changes is turned on. I don’t know if that makes a difference for this or if it is just a TOC problem.

I opened the document earlier and printed several copies of it without any problems. Then I stopped to make sure she didn’t want to go over it one more time before I printed the amount needed. When I went back into it to print the rest the TOC changed all the page numbers to 2. What the hell? It was working perfectly fine when I opened it before, I didn’t make any changes before closing it and didn’t save it. It has been happening off and on the entire time this report has been worked on. I haven’t been able to find a pattern for when it happens. It doesn’t make any sense to me at all.

I closed and reopened it I don’t know how many times to no avail. After looking around online this appears to be a common problem with all versions of word. I came across a post on the MS forums about this very issue and found a work-around. While viewing the document press ctrl+end and then ctrl+alt+i. Why does this key combination work? I have no idea. It is annoying enough that I don’t care why, I’m just glad it worked since we have to print 25 copies of this for a meeting this week.

Sources:

  1. #1 by Richard Wahlstedt on August 10, 2012 - 1:16 AM

    I have the exact same problem.
    I run Windows 7 (x64) Enterprise SP1 with Office 2010 Prof Plus (x64) SP1.
    I´m a really experienced user of Word for 20 years and hasn´t got any problem like this before. But now, everytime I have a TOC in a document, and go to Print preview, the page numbers in TOC they all resets to 2. And yes, I have updated the TOC before I go to Print Preview. Then I go back and update the TOC again and then go to Print Prewiew, and now it works fine. But If I then save the document and open it again, the exact same problem occurs.
    This drives me crazy!!!

Leave a Reply

