Skype crashes during video call

I was having problems trying to Skype with my aunt yesterday afternoon. I logged into Skype, tried to call her, but as soon as she would answer Skype threw the error saying that it stopped working and would look for a solution. I never did try calling without video so I don’t know if that’s the issue or not. Whatever the problem is the only way I could fix it was to install the beta version of Skype from their website. I saw on the forums that lots of other people were having the same issue. I looked in the event viewer and saw an error that included:

Faulting application name: Skype.exe, version: 5.0.0.152, time stamp: 0x4cb31516
Faulting module name: KERNELBASE.dll, version: 6.1.7600.16385, time stamp: 0x4a5bdaae

What does that mean? I have no idea. The only thing I can think of is if maybe recent windows updates broke something for Skype. I haven’t changed anything else on my computer recently.  I’m also not sure if this is a Windows 7 thing or not. My aunt has Windows XP still and she was not having any issues, another family member who has Windows 7 also couldn’t Skype with her. So maybe windows update strikes again.

Anyway, go here and download the beta version. It’s about half way down the  page under their windows section if you go directly to Skype’s website.

,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

