Imaging an encrypted drive

This is using Ghost Solution Suite 2.5, which is ghost 11.5, to image a hard drive that is encrypted by PGP encryption. But there is a good chance these same steps will work with other encryption software.

If you want to bypass all my troubleshooting that it took for me to get this to work then click here to go straight to the solution.

July 5, 2011

This adventure began late last week. I need to figure out how to image our encrypted hard drives in a manner that keeps the encryption intact. I’m not going to wait hours for a drive to decrypt just so I can image it and then have it spend another few hours, or however long, to re-encrypt it. The plan is to get this to work so that I can pull an image of each of our laptops every time we have huge software changes. I’m not sure what’s going to qualify as large enough changes to make me go through this, but I’ll figure it out when I get there. After I get this process to work properly I’ll just use the ghost client on the machines to back up the user files every 2 weeks or so.

Well last week I started my experiment with ghosting one of our unused encrypted laptops. It took me forever to realize that I can’t use the windows client to pull or push an image because ghost doesn’t like that I have to enter the password before the computer will finish booting up. Even though I was standing at the laptop when the client forced a reboot and typed the password in right when it prompted for it, it wouldn’t go into the WindowsPE environment. I thought I was being too slow at first, but that wasn’t the case.

I created a boot disk with the right NIC drivers on it for these laptops and had it boot to the CD. I finally got it imaging and then noticed it was splitting the image into the default 2GB chunks. With these laptops being 500GBs, that just isn’t going to work. I kept thinking of spanning, not splitting, so it then took me awhile to find the correct switch to add to the settings /facepalm. I finally got it to pull the image, it took 4 or 5 hours to do it and the next day I turned around and pushed the image back out to it – I’m using the ghostcast server on one of my servers since I don’t have a large enough external hard drive for a 500GB image and I don’t feel like buying one right now.

I came in this morning and rebooted the machine to see if the image worked. Well it prompted me for my encryption password but then it won’t boot into windows so I need to run the repair command. But I can’t do that until I decrypt the drive because the repair boot disk won’t see the hard drive until I do. So now I get to yank the hard drive out and hook it up to another laptop in order to decrypt it, that will take 12-24 hrs.

But, there is one more thing I will try before I become stumped. I used the split=0 switch, but not the switch to force a sector-by-sector copy (-ia). I thought I read in the documentation or in their forum that it would detect whether it needed to be sector-by-sector, but I don’t know how to find out and it didn’t work. The last time I had to decrypt a drive by hooking it up to another laptop as an external it took at least 20 hrs to finish. I’ll start that process shortly and try to image it again tomorrow.

If anybody has any advice please feel free to share it.

To be continued….

Continued:

Well I tried imaging it again after waiting 20 hrs for it to decrypt, then 20 more hours for it to encrypt itself again. The image failed. I tried using both the -split=0 and -ia switches and did see an error where it was saying something about -split=0 not being used properly or whatever. So now I have to decrypt it again (20 hrs), run the fixboot command, and let it encrypt itself again (20 hrs). Then I will try imaging one more time only using the -ia switch for sector-by-sector copy. I will report back once this has been attempted. I will figure this out, damn it.

October 11, 2011

So 3 months have past since I last spent much time trying to figure this out. I’m too stubborn to admit defeat and let something like this go without exhausting all resources first. I just knew there had to be a way to get it to work. I came across a KB article on Symantec’s website that sounded like exactly what I needed to do. Why this was never mentioned in any forum posts about PGP (or encryption in general) and Symantec Ghost (that I found anyway) is beyond me. I only ever saw mention of sector-by-sector copying and if you read my original post, then you know how well that worked out. I just realized the new article that  I found also refers to the -IR switch, which is a raw disk image, as sector-by-sector. What the hell? Let’s be a little more confusing please /sarcasm.


Solution:

  1. Use a ghost boot CD or usb drive to get into the WindowsPE environment.
  2. After it boots up and pops the Ghost GUI up, close that so you’re at the black command prompt.
  3. From here I had to go back a couple directories by typing cd.. to find the directory the ghost executable lives in. I think it’s Ghost32.exe.
  4. The switches you need to use are -IR, -FRO, and -SPLIT=0. So type ghost32.exe -IR -FRO -SPLIT=0 and hit enter. Now go through the normal steps to select the disk to image and the place to save it.

You are going to need a removable hard drive or the ability to ghostcast from a server that has enough space for the image to be the entire size of the hard disk, even if the disk only has 50GB of information on it. Since the image is a raw disk image (the -IR switch) it is imaging the entire disk. You can use the -SPLIT switch to chop the image into smaller bits, but that doesn’t make the image any easier to manage with hard disks being so large these days. Unless you need to chop the image into files that will fit on DVDs or Blu-Rays, I don’t see that being useful. Or maybe you have small usb hard drives to split the image onto, I suppose that’s helpful.

I pulled an image and turned around and pushed it back out and it worked perfectly. I rebooted the laptop this afternoon and it was like nothing happened – encryption and everything is intact. It looks like, based off the switch descriptions linked below, that the only difference between raw disk image and sector-by-sector is that the raw disk image ignores the partition table. Funny how the KB article still refers to it as sector-by-sector, yet their own switch description page does not.

Sources:

  1. Ghost and PGP – Norton Community
  2. Symantec KB Article TECH104163
  3. Switches: Alphabetical list of switches

, , ,

  1. #1 by Anonymous on October 25, 2013 - 9:02 AM

    Nice. Thank you.

  2. #2 by Rob on October 26, 2012 - 5:34 AM

    I have Ghost 15 and loved your article but got tripped up on one point. You mentioned quitting the GUI after I boot the Ghost DVD. I could not see how to do that. I picked “exit” on the lower right corner and it exited everything and rebooted my machines. Second, on Ghost 15, I could not find the ghost32.exe when I was poking around the DVD. Could you give me hint where the program is located on the DVD please.

    • #3 by jen3ral on October 26, 2012 - 2:46 PM

      If I remember correctly the boot CD looks like a windows PE environment. I think I just hit the X at the top right to close the ghost GUI and it left the command prompt up behind it. I’ll pop it into a computer at work on Monday to double check and also to look at where the exe file is located.

  3. #4 by Bill on February 24, 2012 - 12:28 PM

    Can Ghost Explorer access /open image? Does PGP open the files?

    • #5 by jen3ral on February 25, 2012 - 1:12 PM

      I don’t know. I never tried. All I wanted was the ability to image a drive before someone removed the laptop from the office for extended periods of time so I could spit it out onto another hard drive if I needed to.

      Good questions, I’ll try to get answers to them when I get back into the office on Monday.

    • #6 by jen3ral on February 27, 2012 - 12:38 PM

      Ghost explorer cannot open the images because of the switches I had to use. I’ll have to play around with PGP on one of the laptops to see if it can do anything with it.

  4. #7 by Dennis on January 24, 2012 - 1:02 PM

    Very informative thanks! Now I know why after trying to recover from a image that won’t boot.

  1. Imaging an encrypted drive « Diary of a computer geek | Encryption & Secure

Leave a Reply

