Stop duplicate texts with Google Voice

Here’s a quicky for you.

I finally got a Google Voice number and started playing around with it today.  I was playing with the text messaging feature and noticed that I was getting duplicate messages sent to my GV number and then to my main phone number.  I don’t see the point in having them forwarded to my main phone number if I’m getting them through GV. The whole point is to avoid the charges from my carrier since I don’t want to pay more for unlimited texts.  I guess maybe if I don’t have a smart phone and don’t have the app on my phone I’d need it forwarded.  Anyway, simple solution to this problem is to go to your settings and uncheck a box that says “Receive text messages on this phone”.

This option makes it sound like I’m disabling text messages on my GV number altogether, but apparently it just stops it from forwarding them to your regular phone number.

  1. #1 by wickerprods on February 14, 2017 - 2:54 PM

    does ANY1 know how to stop the duplicate texts? i uncheck receive messages on this phone, and gv keeps turning it back on…every time

  2. #2 by wickerprods on February 14, 2017 - 2:53 PM

    changing it to google voice app instead of messaging app does NOT solve the duplicate problem

  3. #3 by Anonymous on February 14, 2014 - 8:33 PM

    Thanks!

  4. #4 by Anonymous on November 8, 2012 - 11:22 AM

    if you change the notification settings in google voice to receive messages using “google voice app” instead of “messaging app”, you wont receive a dupe message in both the messaging app and gvoice app. thanks.

  5. #5 by gilly05 on June 24, 2012 - 9:58 PM

    If I do this, I don’t get any notification when a text comes in. I just switched from Sprint, which had full GV integration, to ATT. This is the first time I’ve encountered this issue. Again, if I make the change you recommend, I don’t get any notification that a text came in. If I leave the box checked, I end up getting two notifications. Really annoying. Any ideas?

    • #6 by Lumenii on June 26, 2012 - 4:05 PM

      After checking the option recommended in this post, go into the Google Voice app on your phone. Open the settings, and turn on the Notification options.

      • #7 by jen3ral on June 26, 2012 - 5:17 PM

        Ah, thanks for chiming in. Hope that works. I don’t think I had to change anything there for me. But it’s been so long now I don’t remember.

  6. #8 by Anonymous on June 19, 2012 - 2:03 PM

    Thank you!

Leave a Reply

