Cannot run executables in Server 2003

I came across a weird problem today on one of our servers where it wouldn’t let me install a program.  It said I might not have the permissions to access the file.  The first attempt was trying to install the file I had just downloaded from another computer onto one of the network drives.  I then tried downloading it directly onto the server and saving it on my desktop, but got the same error.  How could I not have permissions to install a file that I had just downloaded to my own desktop?

I looked around online and found some places that suggested uninstalling Internet Explorer enhanced security configuration (IEESC) so I tried that, but it didn’t do anything.  Then I noticed that when looking at the properties of the file, there was an unblock option under the general tab.  I’ve installed things on this server before and don’t recall ever having to do this, so I don’t know what has changed.  I think it’s pretty stupid that I have to unblock a file that I downloaded myself onto the server since I am the administrator.

  1. #1 by Rob Gibson on October 8, 2010 - 9:24 AM

    OMG!!! This has been an anoying pain in the ass for a few months now. I’ve never Googled it till today because I figured the error message was too general for this specific situation. Today I Googled “cannot run downloaded files on server” and your page came up. Thanks a million!!!

    • #2 by jen3ral on October 8, 2010 - 11:15 PM

      Haha, glad I could help and that I wasn’t the only one with this irritating problem.

Leave a Reply

