ATI HDMI – gap around the edges

I just bought a new graphics card, ATI Radeon HD 5770, and had a weird problem where what was being displayed was not filling the entire screen.  It left about a one inch gap around the entire monitor.  I’ve never seen that before so I had no idea what settings to even look at to fix this.  I went from connecting using a DVI cable to HDMI (woo!) so I know that had something to do with it.  After googling around a bit I found directions on where to look in the Catalyst Control Center to change the settings, but it isn’t the most intuitive thing in the world so I thought this might be helpful for some people.  I did not find anywhere in the Windows 7 display options to change this kind of setting.  So unless you have Catalyst Control Center installed I’m not sure you’ll be able to adjust it.

What you’re doing is looking for the scaling options and adjusting the overscan percentage.  The smaller the percentage, the more detail you’ll see. This screen shot that I found on wikipedia might help give you an idea of what that actually means.  Screen captures always make things easier to understand, so here are the steps in screen shots.

  1. I don’t know if it’s just me, but I found this to be the confusing part.  It says to click on the triangle on the desktop below that you want to configure but that doesn’t exactly work correctly.  You have to click on the triangle on the tiny display at the bottom, not the bigger one – you don’t get the same options.

  1. #1 by Anonymous on December 24, 2012 - 7:35 AM

    Thank you very usefull…

  2. #2 by Anonymous on July 7, 2011 - 8:48 PM

    Thank you, this has made my day. Just installed Win7 on my SSD and had this weird problem come up.

  3. #3 by PerryJ on April 9, 2011 - 8:05 AM

    “What you’re doing is looking for the scaling options and adjusting the overscan percentage. The smaller the percentage, the more detail you’ll see. This screen shot that I found on wikipedia might help give you an idea of what that actually means. Screen captures always make things easier to understand, so here are the steps in screen shots.”

    You’re right about that… I didn’t fully follow you but the screen grab explained it all. It’s true that a picture is worth a thousand words. Thanks for this, I was having the problem too.

  4. #4 by Carl on November 24, 2010 - 4:43 PM

    Thank you so much!

    I totally agree about the confusing part. Makes no sense at all.

  5. #5 by Jasper on April 27, 2010 - 2:45 PM

    This has been annoying me for a little bit and was just too lazy to look it up. Thanks for the writeup.

Leave a Reply

