Disable the restart now prompt

restartnow

I’m sure you recognize the reminder we all love to hate.  I could easily disable automatic updates altogether so I don’t get the prompt at all, but knowing me, I’d forget to check for months at a time.  I went searching for a better solution mainly because I was playing a game online one day when the prompt came up in the middle of the game, which forced the game to minimize.  There’s nothing like being in the middle of an attack by a horde of zombies (Left 4 dead, ftw!) when the game suddenly minimizes to remind me to restart my computer!  Ahhh!

Permanently stop Windows Update from both restarting your computer automatically and reminding you to restart:

  1. Go to start -> run (for Vista type this in the search bar), type gpedit.msc.
  2. Navigate to Computer Configuration -> Administrative Templates -> Windows Components – > Windows Update.GroupPolicy
  3. Double-click No auto-restart with logged on users for scheduled automatic updates installations and enable it.
  4. Then to stop that irritating reminder from popping up every 10 minutes, double-click on Re-prompt for restart with scheduled installations.  You would think that disabling this would disable the reminder, but it does the same leaving it not configured would do – allows the reminder to popup to interrupt you every 10 minutes.  I don’t quite understand that.  But anyway, after opening the box for this, click on enable and type a 1440 in the box.  This will set it to remind you once a day so you can restart it whenever you want.Re-promptForRestart

I don’t have a Vista box here to test it on, but I’m fairly certain the directions are the same.  If not, leave a comment and I’ll update them.

,

  1. #1 by Rob Verhagen on April 6, 2010 - 6:34 AM

    That is the best news I have heard all year, that annoying little pop up used to annoy me no-end in Windows XP. How does one do it in Vista now? I have an annoying little pop up that tells me to restart or remind me in 4 hours? The other day I clicked restart now by accident and lost all of my work.

    • #2 by jen3ral on April 6, 2010 - 10:59 AM

      Does typing gpedit.msc into the search bar not work? I don’t have my Vista laptop with me so I can’t test it. I’ll have to do that when I get home from work.

Leave a Reply

