HOW TO: Play DVDs on your Wii

This isn’t normally something I would blog about since it isn’t computer related, but I figure enough people would want to do this that I would post it and I’m a tech geek in general so it fits.

I do have to warn you that there is a possibility that you can brick your Wii (making it an expensive paper weight), so be aware of that before messing around with this.

This is the way to make DVDs playable on your Wii, system 4.0 or above (mine is 4.1 right now and it works fine), without having to do the Zelda hack that I’m sure you’ve come across if you have found your way here.

I found this video on youtube explaining how to do it, but I had to do it a bit differently to get it to work. You can go there and watch it if you want and come back to see what I had to do differently. I’ll type out a few things here to get you started, but I won’t type everything out since he has a readme file in the download that has it all step by step.

  1. The first thing you want to do is download this zip file that the guy who did the video on youtube put together and save it to your Desktop, or somewhere else easy to get to.
      a) If you don’t have an extracting/unzipping program you can go here to download 7zip.
  2. Put your SD card in your computer and go to My Computer or Computer in Vista and open your SD card.
  3. Open the zip file that you downloaded and open the readme.txt file. You may need to tell the zip file to open with 7zip if you just downloaded that program. Minimize the readme file for now.
  4. Double-click the HackMii Installer folder to open it.
  5. Highlight all of those folders and the boot.elf file and extract them to your SD card.
      a) If you already have a folder called private, you can rename it to privateold. That you way won’t delete anything if it’s important. I didn’t have any issues though.
      b) For version 4.2, if you chose the 2nd option, you need to copy the contents of the hackmii installer zip file onto the SD card as well as the entire apps folder from the mplayer-ce zip file you downloaded.
  6. Go back to the readme file from before and start from step 3.
  7. After you’ve done everything in the readme file open the homebrew channel and go to the homebrew browser.
      a) You now need to download the program that will play the DVDs and not all of them work. It took me a couple hours to figure that out. Go ahead and update the browser if it prompts you.
  8. Go to the Media section and find MPlayer CE (Christmas Edition) and click download.
  9. Once that is done you can either look around and see what else there is to download (there is tons of stuff). Or you can press the home button on your wiimote and either reboot the wii to get back to the wii menu, or return to loader to go back to the homebrew channel. To get to the menu from the homebrew channel, hit the home button again and then exit.

Wii firmware version 4.2
The directions are nearly identical to what is up above, you just need to download different files. If they don’t seem to make sense let me know and I’ll clarify.

  • Here is the youtube video with directions and the link to the package he put together. He has the media player included in the package.
  • I did not use his package, I went straight to bootmii.org so I know for certain that this one works. This one did not include the media player, but I just went to the mplayer-ce website and clicked the link on the right to download it.
  • From here you can go to step 2 up above and those directions should apply to this.

Playing a DVD on your Wii:

  1. Go to the homebrew channel you just installed and click MPlayer CE -> Load.
  2. At the black and white menu arrow down to open and press the right arrow button to select it.
  3. Go down to DVD Video and press the right arrow again to select it.
  4. Use the same controls to go to Play DVD and select it to start the video or go to chapter if you want to select a specific chapter.
      a) If you go down and select Play DVD (libdvdnav) instead of the top option to Play DVD, it will send you to the DVD menu so you can get to any extra stuff on the DVD (gag reel, etc.).

The only annoying thing is that there is a volume control on the wii itself that you need to turn up because it’s pretty quiet and you will probably have to turn the volume up on the TV pretty loud after that. Besides that it works perfectly. To increase/decrease the volume on the wii press the plus or minus buttons during the movie.

For controls on how to work the menu during the movie and skip forward or backward, etc you can go here and look at the little table thing. Press the B button during the movie to bring the menu up and press it multiple times to make it go away.

The SD card must be in your Wii for this to work since the programs are not installed on the Wii.

Enjoy your movie :)

, ,

  1. #1 by Anonymous on January 27, 2013 - 11:15 AM

    i did everything you said but the homebrew channel just has a ? what did i do wrong?

  2. #2 by redd on June 13, 2012 - 11:08 PM

    BUY A PS3 SIMPLE FIX

  3. #3 by Joey on December 18, 2011 - 7:00 PM

    If I do this, will I still be able to purchase and use netflix? (which I intend on doing within the next week)

    • #4 by jen3ral on December 18, 2011 - 9:59 PM

      I believe so since all you have to do is downloaded another channel for netflix. Although I’m not 100% certain since I no longer use my Wii to watch DVDs or stream.

  4. #5 by markie on June 2, 2010 - 8:39 PM

    will this screw up my wii? just curious ’cause i want to watch them on the black wii i just got!!!yahoo!

    :) :) :)

    • #6 by jen3ral on June 2, 2010 - 9:48 PM

      It has the potential to break your Wii if it isn’t done right, but I have yet to hear about someone trying it and actually breaking it. Definitely try it at your own risk.

  5. #7 by cookie on May 17, 2010 - 2:11 PM

    i’ve tried several different ways to load this. Homebrew channel and the apps are working but I can’t load any of my dvd movies.. I have dvdx installed I even reinstalled it.. what else is there to do? is there a better way to load dvds?

    • #8 by jen3ral on May 19, 2010 - 8:26 PM

      I don’t know of any other way to play DVDs on a Wii. I know that if the firmware is updated it screws things up, so maybe that’s it? I’ve recently had problems where some DVDs won’t play at all, it’s hit and miss – I have no idea why.

  6. #9 by Mike McNamara on February 13, 2010 - 1:42 PM

    Hi there,

    Great set of instructions after a few other (from other places) aborted atempts to get DVD’s to play on the Wii.

    All seems to gone well with regards to loading up the HDSC card and installing all on the Wii everything seems to be okay, except when I run the instruations in the Playing a DVD on your Wii: section, the DVD mounts, but the scree stays the same. I can here the DVD goling around, but nothing is shown running.

    Any suggestions?

    Great site and great You tubes videos. Very easy to follow.

  7. #10 by arvad on January 13, 2010 - 11:31 AM

    Is it the same procedure when I have 3.1E??
    Thanks!!

    • #11 by jen3ral on January 13, 2010 - 11:54 AM

      Honestly, I don’t know. I’ve never tried on firmware versions below 4.0.

      • #12 by arvad on January 13, 2010 - 12:22 PM

        I have installed it from the Homebrew Channel but MPlayerCE v. 0.76 freezes everytime I try to start it (with or without a dvd in the Wii).
        Any ideas ?

        • #13 by jen3ral on January 13, 2010 - 1:04 PM

          I would guess that DVDx either wasn’t installed or didn’t install properly. You could try going back to that step in the readme and reinstalling it. Go to bootmii.org to download the newest hackmii installer & DVDx version, if you haven’t tried that already.

  8. #14 by bob on January 10, 2010 - 2:21 PM

    I was able to install everything. and it works fine on some dvds, but not all.
    some will start up fine but crashes after a short time and gives and error.
    So, it is not 100 % . The dvd formats on all disks are not the same. How do
    I fine what they are?

    • #15 by jen3ral on January 10, 2010 - 5:43 PM

      I’ve had some issues, but I’ve noticed that if I select the first chapter instead of just hitting play dvd it works. Any movie that’s crashed during the intro for me has worked when I just go straight to chapter 1. I’m not sure what else to try besides that. I would guess that the formats might be different for each company, but I really don’t know how to find that out.

  9. #16 by vicky on November 28, 2009 - 5:57 PM

    Hi
    I had bought new wii console version 4.1. do have installed Meplayer CE not able to install DVDX utility and its not playing my DVD too.
    Could someone help.
    Thanks
    Venky

    • #17 by jen3ral on December 4, 2009 - 2:29 PM

      Sorry it took me so long. What does it do when you try to install DVDx? Download the files I put links to for the 4.2 version. There’s a new version of DVDx that might work.

  10. #18 by KIm on November 7, 2009 - 7:02 PM

    Thanks for the tip.. I am still having trouble playing DVDs using MPlayer-CE edition? When I click open and ‘play dvd’… nothing happens..? Any advice please? I have the wii version 4.2e..

    • #19 by jen3ral on November 9, 2009 - 9:46 PM

      I haven’t tried it in awhile. I’ll see if it still works after updating the firmware and get back to you.

  11. #20 by jasmin193 on September 30, 2009 - 7:02 PM

    Thank you for your comprehensive blog…I just did this myself in an effort to have one less piece of electronics around my wall mounted television, but I was disappointed to find that the menu navigation (libdvdnav) for extra features (like gag reel etc), wasn’t really working for me. Have you had success with that? If so can you tell me what to push on the remote once I’m at that screen? Moving the arrows etc doesn’t work. Maybe I downloaded a glitchy version but want to know before I give up and have to get a real dvd player….Also, the sound doesnt always sync with the actor’s voices, has anyone else had this problem?

  12. #21 by james rogers on August 1, 2009 - 4:12 PM

    Thanks for the tip. Sometimes the risk is worth the reward.

  1. Valuable Internet Information » HOW TO: Play DVDs on your Wii

Leave a Reply

