Intrepid Ibex and dual screens

After some requests from people on staff I decided, with a bit of reluctance, to upgrade from 8.04 to 8.10.  My hesitance was based off the problems I had getting our dual screens set up in past upgrades because ATI and Nvidia didn’t get along with Ubuntu very well.  The only problem I had with this installation was that I told it not to change the menu.lst file so it kept booting into the wrong kernel – I had a noob moment.  Once I figured out what I did it took me maybe 10 minutes to get the dual screens working.  I imagine it’ll go the same way when I upgrade our ATI machines.

Oh, there was one other issue I had.  I originally tried activating the restricted driver through the hardware manager but every time I tried it locked up and never enabled it so I gave up on that.  I dug around online and found Envyng.  It’s a pretty cool little tool for Nvidia and ATI graphic cards that installs the drivers for you.

To install Envyng open Synaptic and install the envyng-gtk and envyng-core packages.Synaptic

Then open a terminal type envyng -t to bring up a menu.

Envyng1
Press 1 to bring up the Nvidia driver select menu.  It shows you what driver you should install by the plus signs in the compatible and recommended columns.  Type the number for your drive and hit enter.
drive select

That’s all you have to do to install your driver.  I tried enabling the dual screen option using nvidia settings but I couldn’t find the setting in there anywhere so I just manually edited the xorg.conf file to get it to work.  Here are the related sections of that file:


Section "ServerLayout"
Identifier    "Default Layout"
Screen      0   "Default Screen" 0 0
EndSection


Section "Module"
Load        "glx"
Disable     "dri2"
EndSection


Section "ServerFlags"
Option        "Xinerama" "0"
EndSection


Section "Monitor"
Identifier    "Generic Monitor"
# Powersaving auto-off features
Option        "DPMS"
EndSection


Section "Device"
Identifier    "nVidia Corporation NV18 [GeForce4 MX 4000]"
Driver        "nvidia"
Option        "NoLogo" "True"
EndSection


Section "Screen"
Identifier    "Default Screen"
Monitor       "Generic Monitor"
Device        "nVidia Corporation NV18 [GeForce4 MX 4000]"
DefaultDepth    24
Option        "TwinView" "1"
Option        "TwinViewOrientation" "RightOf"
Option  "MetaModes" "1280x1024,1280x1024;1024x768,1024x768"
Option    "AddARGBGLXVisuals"    "True"


SubSection    "Display"
Depth    24
Modes    "1280x1024" "1152x864" "1024x768" "800x600"
EndSubSection
EndSection

I’m going to try the same thing on the ATI machines that we have and the only difference I think will be that I won’t have to edit the xorg.conf file myself.  All I should have to do is type aticonfig --dtop=horizontal into the terminal and reset the machine.  The xorg.conf file related to ATI can be seen in this post.

, , , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

