Ghost 11 (suite 2.0)

The migration from 7.5 to 11 was not as smooth as I had hoped. We used to netboot and ghostcast that way but with this new version I would have had to edit all the config files and I am not willing to put in the time to figure out how to do that when I’ve never attempted something like that before. So I opted for the boot CD, which wasn’t the easiest thing in the world to come by either.

Our newest machines are Dell Optiplex 755’s. I was able to find a forum online where someone posted directions on how to make the boot disk for it with the correct NIC drivers. It worked perfectly, I was finally able to ghostcast.

1. I went to Dell’s support site (support.dell.com) and downloaded the Intel drivers (about 5MB). Or you can download them here; ftp://ftp.us.dell.com/network/R162323.EXE
2. Extracted the contents to a new folder
3. Located the DOSNDIS2 directory. Within there there should be 2 files (e1000.dos and protocol.ini).
4. Created a new file called oemsetup.inf
5. Edit the oemsetup.inf file and copy/paste the following into it.
; OEMSETUP.INF for Broadcom Ethernet Adapter
[netcard]
E1000$=”Intel Ethernet”, 0, NDIS, Ethernet, REAL, E1000$_ini, E1000$_ini
[E1000$_ini]
DriverName=E1000$
device=E1000.dos, @INSTE1000$.dos
NETDIR=5:E1000$.dos
6. Save the file
7. Run the Symantec Ghost Boot Wizard Creator.
8. When asked to Select the Network Driver choose Add
9. Click the Setup Button and point to the NDIS folder you just created.
10. Everything else is default until the end.

Now I’ve hit another snag; we dual boot linux-windows and now linux won’t boot up. I can’t get it to boot up into anything because I’m using the linux bootloader. It’s stuck with GRUB in the upper left corner of the screen. I thought ghost was supposed to work with linux. Anybody know what to do?

Update: I just reinstalled grub and it works perfectly now. Sweet.

, , ,

  1. #1 by Jesse on May 5, 2009 - 8:29 AM

    When selecting the “setup” button and pointing it towards the NDIS folder I get the following error:

    Unable to automatically read the parameters for the selected network card because the oemsetup.inf file could not be parsed.

    Where should I go from here?

    • #2 by jen3ral on May 6, 2009 - 5:08 PM

      When you create the oemsetup.inf file in notepad make sure the bold text is the only thing in the file. It’s been so long since I did this. That error makes me think the file wasn’t created properly or is missing something.

  2. #3 by jack manchester on June 29, 2008 - 6:50 PM

    thank you ..

  3. #4 by productman on June 25, 2008 - 7:44 PM

    Don’t offer dual boot as an option. If it’s in the labs, does labmonitor identify when a system is booted into linux? If it’s in the office, tell the lone guy who complains about no linux to deal with it.

Leave a Reply

