Vista Says NO!

So I’m at work trying to get our new computers up and running. They came with Vista installed so I’m trying to put XP on them since we don’t like Vista. We already have 1 vista computer, that’s enough. I keep getting the BSOD when I try to boot off an XP CD so I tried installing XP while in Vista and this is what it showed me:

As you can see, the option to install XP has been grayed out.

Update: DBan doesn’t work either, wtf? Any ideas on how I can get rid of Vista and get XP on there?

Update #2: Well I feel a little like an idiot. A past co-worker suggested I change the setting in the bios so that the hard drives are not detected as SATA, so I changed that to the Legacy option and DBan now works. I’m not sure if it would have made a difference when it came to that install XP option being grayed out like in the picture above. I’m going to test that out on the only machine we are keeping Vista on after it isn’t in use anymore. But that SATA thing is definitely why I was getting the BSOD, at least I’m pretty sure. I’ll find out when DBan finishes. It’s taken 20 hrs and 42 minutes to get to 71%, so it’ll be awhile.

Final update: Changing the SATA detection didn’t make a difference when it came to Vista not wanting to let XP be installed over it, it was still grayed out.  But DBan finally finished and I will get to imaging them on Monday.

  1. #1 by sysadmin1138 on April 10, 2008 - 11:42 AM

    What an interesting problem! Dban doesn’t work? That implies hardware twiddling at some level. Somehow I doubt you’d be buying machines with the TPM chips required to make BitLocker work right, which could very well get in the way of that. Or… the machines you have use HD I/O hardware that Linux hasn’t caught up with yet.

  2. #2 by productman on April 9, 2008 - 4:39 PM

    At what point do you hit the BSOD? Will it let you reformat or anything? If not, try using the Vista installation disc, reformatting the drive, then installing XP from there.

    If that doesn’t work, bug the guys at ATUS to see if they have an XP image you can ghost onto the machine. I know they’re _incredibly_ prompt when it comes to setting up new images.

Leave a Reply

