McAfee/Firefox popup blocker bug

Ever since I updated my version of Firefox, either that or McAfee, I don’t remember, I had this weird problem where the the popup blocker option would randomly uncheck itself. It seems like every website now has irritating windows that pop up when you leave their site. I got frustrated with it so I poked around online and found a mozillazine article about it. Apparently McAfee doesn’t like firefox taking control of the web security type things.

If you disable the popup security option in McAfee then it changes a preference in the user.js file, “dom.disable_open_during_load” to “false”.  I didn’t think I needed two programs blocking popups so I went ahead and disabled it in McAfee.  I don’t particularly like using McAfee, but it’s free from comcast, so what the hell?

What’s even worse about this bug is that if you uninstall McAfee that preference is still set to false so it still won’t allow Firefox to block the popups.  The article I linked to has directions on how to fix the problem even if you have removed McAfee.  At least it’s a simple fix.

,

  1. #1 by Stephen Pace on March 31, 2009 - 6:45 AM

    Thanks for posting this. I also have the free McAfee from Comcast and this problem was bugging me for a while. Fixed!

  2. #2 by jen3ral on July 7, 2008 - 12:23 PM

    For firefox Tools -> Options -> Contect -> uncheck the block popup windows box. I can’t tell you how on McAfee since I don’t have that on this computer, but if you need that I can add it later.

  3. #3 by Dale Davis on July 6, 2008 - 11:59 PM

    how can i remove popup blockers.
    sincerely
    Dale Davis

  4. #4 by jen3ral on April 5, 2008 - 12:19 AM

    Click on the mozillazine article link in the first paragraph.

  5. #5 by barb on April 4, 2008 - 5:35 PM

    so where can i get the fix??

Leave a Reply

