Linksys router blinking power light of death

I’ve been having some odd problems with the router at home recently. I woke up yesterday morning and noticed that neither of my computers could get online. The thing that’s odd about this is that we also have a computer downstairs that has been able to get online while the others haven’t. There haven’t been any changes to the router that I’m aware of. I went through power cycling the router and modem, leaving it alone for a while, and going back through power cycling. But it didn’t work. So I finally decided to check the firmware version to see if there was an upgrade on the Linksys website.

I downloaded the newest firmware package, went into the router setup page and attempted to flash it. I got the “your settings have been successful” page then had to wait for the router to reboot. When it came back up one thing had changed, but not in a good way. I could no longer get to the router’s setup page. I went out to the garage and climbed a ladder up to where we have our modem and router, lugging my laptop up there with me so I could easily bounce between the modem and router. That is when I noticed the blinking power light of death. I had never seen this on a router before so I didn’t know what it meant. But after digging around online I discovered that it meant the firmware was corrupted, which would explain why I couldn’t get to the router’s setup page anymore. I have no idea what happened because I did get the page that said it was successful – a bad download maybe.

I’m sure I spent at least an hour on the ladder in the freezing cold garage figuring this out, but I did finally find a solution that worked for me here in this forum.

Problem: Blinking power light on Linksys router and unable to access setup page.

Solution: What you need to do is statically define your computer’s IP address in order to communicate with the router and flash it with the latest firmware. You will need a little file transfer program, which you can get from Linksys here and also the latest firmware package for your model of router. Plug straight into your modem to download those. I unplugged everything from the router so that the only thing plugged in was my laptop, that probably isn’t necessary though.

  1. Go to your control panel and select network connections… or go to network and sharing center, then click on where it says change adapter settings in the left panel.
  2. Under LAN or high-speed internet, you will see local area connection. right-click on it then select properties
  3. Under local area connection properties, look for internet protocol TCP/IPv4, highlight it and click properties.
  4. Once in the internet protocol TCP/IP properties, set it to use the following IP address and settings:
    • IP address: 192.168.1.5 (it must be same range of your default gateway: 192.168.x.x)
    • Subnet Mask: 255.255.255.0
    • Default Gateway: 192.168.1.1 (that is the default one. if not then enter the IP address of your router, to check it, open command prompt, then type in “ipconfig” [no quotes] the default gateway is equivalent to router’s IP address)
    • Also put in 192.168.1.1 as the DNS server.
  5. Click ok and click the close button on the local area connection properties window.
  6. Now unplug the router and let it sit for a few seconds, plug it back in. I had to do this before I was able to ping the router.
  7. Open your start menu and go to run, then type cmd. For windows 7 or Vista, just type cmd in the search bar.
  8. Once the black box pops up type in ping 192.168.1.1. We need to make sure your computer can communicate with the router before attempting to flash it again. If it returns 4 responses then you’re good to go, if not then check your settings again and power cycle the router one more time.
  9. Now you need to open the program you downloaded earlier, tftp.exe.
  10. In the server section you want to type the router’s IP address, which is the 192.168.1.1 and the password for it. The default password for Linksys is admin, but if that doesn’t work you can try the password you set for it if you changed it.
  11. Now click the button next to file and find the firmware update you downloaded. Then click upgrade and it should flash the router. It was pretty quick for me.

I had to power cycle my modem and router one more time after this to get everything online again, luckily it saved me another 40 bucks by not having to buy a new router. I would guess that you could probably use tftp.exe with other router brands as well, you just need to download the correct firmware for whatever you have and know the default settings for it since those may be different.

,

  1. #1 by Anonymous on December 15, 2013 - 10:53 PM

    I got it everything to work and even upgraded but still not accessible from browser

  2. #2 by 4rxur0 on September 23, 2013 - 3:10 PM

    This sounds really really complicated after the fact that I own a MacBook. Could I get any help there? (Router: Linksys WRT54GS)

  3. #3 by Kirby on September 6, 2013 - 7:52 PM

    I get the four responses back but when i run the program is says no response from the server

  4. #4 by DSE on February 23, 2013 - 10:35 AM

    Thank you for these instructions. I was able to revive my router this way. For the benefit of anyone else that happens upon this page, I will add one detail – oddly enough, y router did not respond to attempts to ping it until I decided to try holding down the reset button on it while pinging. THEN it responded and I was able to establish communication between router and computer.

    • #5 by jen3ral on February 26, 2013 - 5:11 PM

      Strange, glad you got it working though and thanks for leaving the tip in case anybody else has the same problem.

Leave a Reply

